Cat Bender

Pictured at left is a Rogue Large Positionable Reflector, also known as a Flash Bender. It’s part of a line of flash modifiers available from the folks at ExpoImaging.

In a earlier post I showed how I used a smaller Rogue modifier to photograph an event with terrific results. (See Flash Modifier)

This time I decided to try the “Bender” part of these reflectors. As you can see in the picture the reflector can be shaped to form and position flash output. Once the reflector is shaped into a snoot you can form the end in any shape from a circle to an irregular rectangle to a mere slit. (ExpoImaging has just released a set of colored gels to add to the creative mix.)

I wanted to see how the output from my speedlight would look shaped as an irregular spot when mounted on-camera. Don’t ask me why… I just had an idea that an odd-shaped spotlight might look cool and make for an interesting addition to my bag of tricks.

The only thing lacking to complete my little experiment was a willing model. You should know this experiment took place on a Saturday night. There were only two humans present in the house. One goofy photographer armed with a camera; the other the photog’s wife who was ready to inflict bodily harm should a snooted flash be aimed her way.

Not to worry. I had access to four willing models of the four-legged variety. My two cats were entertaining my daughter’s two cats for the weekend. (At least someone in our home has a social life.) I set out to chase Casper, Rocky, Simba and Mia about the house with my cool flash modifier.

You could say I was about to set out on a Cat Bender! (There may have been wine involved during this experiment… an adult beverage may be involved as I write this post. However, at no time were any cats actually bent.)

Here’s the setup. Flash set to E-TTL automatic. Camera set to Manual. A 50mm lens on a Canon 50D camera. Aperture varied between F/2.8 and  F/4. I wanted these images to show the shape of the flash, so minimizing the impact of existing light was a must. I kept the ISO at 100 and the shutter speed at 1/250th to minimize the existing room light from registering in the photograph.

Now for the results.

In the following gallery of kitty-cat captures notice how the Flash Bender isolated the subject from both the foreground and background. By bending and collapsing the end of the Bender I was able to pinpoint the flash intensity while creating some fun light shapes to accent my subjects. (Click on each image to enlarge.)

From portraiture to product photography, using a little imagination, I am sure you could find numerous applications for this flash modifier.

As the folks from ExpoImaging like to say, “For the best bender, make it Rogue.”

Okay, maybe they don’t say that, but they should. I would…

Until next time,

RG

 

3 Responses to “Cat Bender”

  1. David Vander Velde Says:

    Thanks Randy. I have a flashbender but have not used it this way. You have inspired me to try different things once I find a willing model!

    • RG Says:

      Thanks for the comment, David. I am really finding these little modifiers fun to incorporate into my photography. I am sure you will as well. As for models. . . you could always adopt a cat or two. 🙂

  2. Wedding photographers los angeles Says:

    I like this weblog very much so much good info.

Leave a Reply

